grammar talk

My boss and I were recently editing a letter when he informed me that the heads of grammar have officially changed one of my favorite rules.  When making a list of three or more nouns, you no longer need the comma to separate the last two items.  What the heck is this about?  I feel betrayed and I’m sure Professor Dowding (Boston University) is hacking up his breakfast.  Now, we’re never going to know whether a writer is separating the last two items in his sentence, or if she meant them to appear as a coupling.  Apparently, they changed the rule because so many people, including teachers, were having trouble forming these sentences correctly.  Lazy.  Just lazy.  And this got me to thinking, damn!  I’m old!  I went home and looked at my edition of the The Associated Press and that baby is six years old.  Looks like it’s time for me to get the newest version.  With that being said, I’m still going to use that comma.

0 Responses to “grammar talk”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

